Meet Rebecca

Rebecca Wierda

Junior parks, recreation and tourism resources major

Rebecca works as a seasonal interpretive ranger at Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore. Her goal is to continue working for the National Park Service.

“I love spending time outside among the trees.  It is where I feel the most alive and real.  I enjoy hiking, swimming, as well as sitting and thinking.  I get some of my best work, for school or work, is done outside. I am taking this class because I want to learn and practice getting my thoughts, feelings, and ideas down while I am outside and enjoying nature.  I learn best by doing and practicing, getting the experience.  So, what better way than to go out and camp and write!”

Rebecca is an avid camper. She started camping at the age of 5 and has had many outdoors experiences. She loves being able to connect with friends and family while camping.

“One of my favorite camping memories is when a few friends and myself were trying to plan a camping trip but ended up in a barn.  We wanted to camp down the road at a campground but were having issues planning it, long story short, we ended up in an old barn.  The whole night I could hear owls, raccoons, and bats!  Then, in the morning, I woke to the sun shining through the slats of the barn!”

Leave a Reply

